Home
For authors
Submission status

Current
Archive
Archive (English)
Search
English Russian

Information for Authors

The journal Pis'ma v Zh. Eksp. Teor. Fiz. (and its English edition JETP Letters) publishes short papers that are in need of urgent publishing and that are of broad physical interest. These papers should report first observations of new physical phenomena or new fundamental theoretical results.

The journal publishes also brief comments on an article that appeared earlier in our journal . ( The rules for writing comments see below. )

This journal accepts and published manuscripts submitted in Russian or English *. All manuscripts submitted in English are put to a linguistic test. If the English text appears unreadable, the Editorial Board may request that the authors submit the Russian variant of the manuscript for publication.

All papers in JETP Letters are published in English. The translation of manuscripts submitted in Russian, as well as the editing of manuscripts submitted in English, is performed by the International Academic Publishing Company (IAPC) "Nauka/Interperiodica". Russian and English versions should be identical, as the paper published in both are assumed to be a single publication. Though the final proof of the English version appears a month later then that of the Russian version, the English version cannot contain additional references, figures, formulas etc.

The total length of any paper, as a rule, should not exceed five journal pages in the Russian edition. This length approximately corresponds to 25 KB in LaTeX format, including 1 KB for each figure. One can estimate the manuscript length more accurately by preparing it according to the example available on the Web server for the journal (example.tex) by using the style file (jetpl.cls) available on the same server.

Manuscript may be submitted to the Editorial Board in the following ways:

  • Electronic mail to the e-mail address letters@kapitza.ras.ru. In this case, each figure should be submitted in the form of an individual file in PostScript (*.ps), EncapsulatedPostScript (*.eps), or PaintBrush (*.pcx) formats. It is necessary also attach a pdf file with embedded figures.
  • Conventional mail to the following address: Pis'ma Zh. Eksp. Teor. Fiz., ul. Kosygina 2, Moscow, 117334 Russia.

A manuscript should be submitted in duplicate with figures on separate sheets (for half-tone figures, one additional copy should be submitted). Please, append the e-mail and postal addresses (including the postal code), the office and home phone numbers, and the complete name of the author to whom correspondence should be addressed. The authors of English manuscript should also submit a CD containing the text in LaTeX format.

Acceptance or rejection of a paper for publication is decided by the Editorial Board with a proposal from the Editorial Board member specialized in the appropriate section. A manuscript can be rejected if it is not topical enough, does not provide significant development compared to other publications in this field, considers too specific a subject, etc. As a rule, the referee reports on rejected papers are not sent. The authors may resubmit a rejected manuscript, appending with it an explanatory letter. In this case, the manuscript will be put under additional review.

* In connection with the requirements of the journal publisher and distributor of "JETP Letters", our Russian version journal "Pis'ma ZhETF" after July 2016 is deprived of the opportunity to publish the full text of articles originally written in English. To meet this requirement, but not to deny Russian readers of the information, the Editorial Board of the journal adopted the following decision for articles submitted in English, which meet all the requirements of the Journal. The full text of the paper will be published in the "JETP Letters" journal. In the "Pis'ma ZhETF" journal the extended abstracts in English will be published. The extended abstract is limited by 2 pages of the journal style, or 5600-11200 characters of text, including one figure and the list of references. At the end of the extended abstract it will be indicated that the full text of the article will be published in the ?JETP Letters? journal. The editors and Editorial Board are aware that the proposed solution will lead to the destruction of identity of "JETP Letters" and "Pis'ma ZhETF" journals. So that the publications of the papers in English in these journals will be two different publications.

MANUSCRIPT PREPARATION

The first page of a manuscript should have the following form:

TITLE.
Initials and Surnames of the Authors.
Necessarily requires - Institutions where the authors work,
including city and postal code, the e-mail address of one of the authors
Text of the Abstract 

Then, after one empty line, the main text follows.

Surnames of the foreign Authors should be given in Russian transcription ( with indication of original transcriptions in a footnote). Affiliations of Authors working abroad have to be written in English.

We ask Authors of the papers written in Russian to pay attention to the names translation. It will be done by using of strict rules specified in Pis'ma v Zh. Eksp. Teor. Fiz. v.58, n.8, p. 699. If for any reason the Authors prefer the other transcription of the name , they have to inform Editors about this on a separate sheet.

Because abstracts may now be distributed separately from the papers (data bases, online systems, etc.), the abstract text should be self-contained with no references or abbreviations but with understandable notation.

Abbreviations must be given in capital letters with no points and should be explained as they are first introduced. Footnotes in the main text must be numbered consecutively in the order of their appearance.

Cited references must be given in a general list at the end of a manuscript and should be numbered with an ordinal number (e.g., [1]) consecutively as they are mentioned in the main text. The reference to a journal article should cite the following: the initials and surnames of all authors, journal name, volume number (in boldface type), the first page of the paper, and year enclosed in parentheses.

References to books must cite the following: the initials and surnames of all author, the complete book title, publisher, year and place of publication, chapter and page (in the case of translated books, give the information for the original in parentheses).

Reference to two papers with the same number as well as two references with different numbers on the same paper are not allowed

Use decimal points instead of commas. Vectors should be typed in bold. Do not use Cyrillic letters in superscripts and subscripts.

The figures are transfered from "Pis'ma v ZhETF" to "JETP Letters" without any changes. Hence, all the letters, axis titles, comments and etc. on the figures should be only in English. We recommend that the authors preparing figures electronically adhere to the following rules: prepare figures in the frame; direct dashes on the axes inside the figure; when possible, use Times font; use numerals (including those on the axes in an insert) and lower case letters with a height of 3-4% of the maximum figure size (height or width) of the figures; put measurement units on the axes in parentheses. When preparing the figures, please, keep in mind that in printed version their width usually does not exceed 82 mm. In exceptive cases a figure may match two columns, up to 160 mm.

Figures will be published color online. Authors must make sure that they are readable in black and white. Examples of the preparation of manuscript and figures, as well as style file, are available on our Web server (Only in Russian for now here).


Supplemental Material

Please read here for information.

Comments in JETP Letters

Please read here for information.

Home
For authors
Submission status

Current
Archive
Archive (English)
Search
English Russian

Информация для авторов

Журнал "Письма в ЖЭТФ" (и его англоязычная версия "JETP Letters") публикует краткие статьи, требующие срочной публикации и представляющие общий интерес для широкого круга читателей-физиков. К категории срочных публикаций относятся первые наблюдения новых физических явлений и теоретические работы, содержащие принципиально новые результаты. Журнал также публикует краткие комментарии к статьям, появившимся ранее в нашем журнале. (Правила написания комментариев см. ниже.)

"Письма в ЖЭТФ" является двуязычным журналом, принимая и публикуя статьи на русском и на английском языках *. Все статьи на английском языке, принятые к публикации, направляются на лингвистическую экспертизу. Если английский текст признается недостаточно ясным, то редакция оставляет за собой право попросить у авторов для опубликования русскую версию статьи.

В "JETP Letters" все статьи публикуются на английском языке. Перевод русских и редактирование английских статей осуществляется в издательстве МАИК <<Наука/Интерпериодика>>. Русская и англоязычная версии должны быть идентичны, поскольку статья, опубликованная в обеих версиях, является одной публикацией. Хотя английская версия окончательно редактируется на месяц позже русской, в ней не должно быть дополнительных ссылок, рисунков, формул и т. п., и все утверждения должны быть одинаковы.

Размер статьи, как правило, не должен превышать пяти страниц русского издания, что примерно соответствует 25 KBytes в формате LATEX, считая 1 kByte на каждый рисунок. Более точно объем текста можно оценить, оформив текст по образцу, с использованием стилевого файла jetpl.cls.

Статьи в редакцию можно направлять

  • по электронной почте letters@kapitza.ras.ru - направлять текст в формате TeX, LaTeX (для статей на русском языке допускается MS Word), рисунки в формате PostScript (..ps), EncapsulatedPostScript (..eps) или PaintBrush (..pcx), каждый рисунок отдельным файлом. Необходимо также приложить pdf файл статьи с встроенными рисунками.
  • по почте по адресу: 117334 Москва, ул. Косыгина 2, "Письма в ЖЭТФ" - два экземпляра статьи с рисунками на отдельных страницах (для полутоновых рисунков еще один дополнительный экземпляр).

К рукописи нужно приложить электронный адрес (e-mail) и почтовый адрес с индексом, фамилию, полное имя и отчество того автора, с которым предпочтительно вести переписку, а также номера его служебного и домашнего телефонов; для статей на английском языке - дополнительно CD диск с текстом в формате LATEX; для статей из России и других стран СНГ должно быть представлено направление от учреждения, которое будет фигурировать в титуле статьи как основное;

Решение о публикации или отклонении статей принимается на заседании редколлегии по представлению члена редколлегии по соответствующему разделу. Основанием для отклонения статьи может быть ее недостаточная актуальность, отсутствие существенного продвижения по сравнению с другими публикациями в этой области, слишком специальная тематика и др. Рецензия на отклоненные статьи, как правило, не сообщается. Авторы могут прислать отклоненную статью на повторное рассмотрение, сопроводив ее разъяснительным письмом. В этом случае статья будет направлена на дополнительное рецензирование.

* В связи с требованиями издателя и распространителя журнала JETP Letters, наш журнал Письма в ЖЭТФ со средины 2016 года лишен возможность публиковать полные тексты статей исходно написанных на английском языке. Чтобы выполнить это требование, но не лишать российских читателей части информации, редакцией журнала принято следующее решение: для статей представленных на английском языке и удовлетворяющих всем требованиям журнала публиковать в Письмах в ЖЭТФ расширенные аннотации на английском языке (объемом не более 1-2 стр. журнального текста , или 5600-11200 знаков текста, включая один рисунок и список литературы). В конце аннотации будет указано, что полный текст статьи можно найти в журнале JETP Letters. Редакция и редакционная коллегия осознают, что предлагаемое решение приводит к уничтожению идентичности журналов Письма в ЖЭТФ и JETP Letters и публикации в них статей на английском языке будут являться двумя разными публикациями.

Оформление рукописи

Первая страница рукописи должна выглядеть следующим образом.

ЗАГЛАВИЕ
Инициалы и фамилии авторов
Обязательно - Учреждения, где работают авторы (включая город и почтовый индекс;
e-mail одного из авторов)
Дата поступления
Текст аннотации 
Далее следует основной текст. 

Фамилии иностранных авторов пишутся в русской транскрипции, но в сноске дополнительно указывается оригинальная транскрипция. Названия мест работы за рубежом пишутся по-английски.

Обращаем внимание авторов статей на русском языке на то, что перевод фамилий с русского языка на английский производится по жестким правилам (см. Письма в ЖЭТФ, т. 58, вып. 8, с. 699). Если авторы по каким-то причинам предпочитают иную транскрипцию своей фамилии, об этом следует написать на отдельном листе.

Поскольку аннотации сейчас распространяются и отдельно от статей (базы данных, системы - On-line. и т.п.), текст аннотации должен быть самодостаточным: без ссылок на список литературы, с понятными обозначениями, без аббревиатур.

Сокращения словосочетаний должны даваться заглавными буквами (без точек) и поясняться при первом их употреблении. В тексте подстрочные примечания должны иметь сплошную нумерацию по всей статье.

Цитируемая литература должна даваться общим списком в конце статьи с указанием в тексте статьи ссылки порядковой цифрой, например, [1]. Литература дается в порядке упоминания в статье. Для журнальных статей указываются сначала инициалы, затем фамилии всех авторов, название журнала, номер тома (полужирным шрифтом), первая страница и год в круглых скобках.

Для книг надо указывать инициалы и фамилии всех авторов, полное название книги, издатель, год, том, номер издания, часть, глава, страница (если ссылка на переводное издание, то обязательно в скобках нужно указать данные оригинала).

Цитирование двух или более произведений под одним номером, одного и того же произведения под разными номерами . не допускается.

В обозначениях и индексах не должно быть русских букв. Например, следует писать Popt, а не Pопт.

В десятичных дробях вместо запятой нужно использовать точку. Векторы должны выделяться в тексте статьи полужирным шрифтом (без стрелки над ними).

Поскольку рисунки переносятся без изменений из "Писем в ЖЭТФ" в "JETP Letters" все надписи на рисунках должны быть только на английском языке. Авторов, использующих при подготовке рисунков компьютерную графику, просим придерживаться следующих рекомендаций: графики делать в рамке; штрихи на осях направлять внутрь; по возможности использовать шрифт Times; высота цифр и строчных букв должна быть в пределах (3 4)% от максимального размера (высоты или ширины) рисунков, это относится и к цифрам на осях вставки; единицы измерения на осях графиков приводить в скобках. При подготовке рисунка имейте в виду, что, как правило, ширина рисунка при печати не превышает 82 мм; в исключительных случаях рисунок размещается на всей ширине листа (до 160 мм).

Рисунки публикуются "on-line"в цвете. На авторов возлагается обязанность проверить, что цветные рисунки читаемы в черно-белом печатном варианте.

Образцы оформления статьи и рисунков, а также стилевой файл можно списать с WWW-страницы "Писем в ЖЭТФ" (http://www.jetpletters.ac.ru/).


Дополнительный материал

О дополнительных материалах смотрите здесь.

Комментарии в журнале «Письма в ЖЭТФ»

О комментариях смотрите здесь.